Skip navigation.
About the Conseil
Reduce textEnlarge text Print text

Background

1996 – Summit on the Economy and Employment

At the conclusion of the 1996 Summit on the Economy and Employment, the Premier announced the introduction of a family policy designed to help the parents of young children achieve work-family balance as well as to encourage low-income parents to join the workforce.

At the same time, Summit participants adopted a resolution calling on the federal government to hand over to Québec the funds needed to create a parental insurance fund.

1997 – Introduction of reduced contribution childcare spaces

The Ministère de la Famille et de l’Enfance was created and put in charge of Québec’s family policy, followed soon afterwards by the introduction of reduced-contribution childcare spaces.

It was also at that time that negotiations began with the federal government on repatriating parental benefit responsibilities with a view to setting up a parental insurance plan specific to Québec.

2001 – Act respecting parental insurance

The Act respecting parental insurance was passed unanimously by the National Assembly of Québec. Negotiations with the federal government continued.

2004 – Entente de principe Canada-Québec sur le Régime d’assurance parentale

This first agreement (available in French only) (PDF, 262 KB) determined the underlying principles, funding mechanism and time frame for the final agreement leading to the creation of the Québec Parental Insurance Plan.

2005 – The Canada-Quebec Final Agreement on the Parental Insurance Plan

The Conseil de gestion de l’assurance parentale officially began operations on January 10, 2005.

On March 1, 2005, the Canada-Quebec Final Agreement on the Parental Insurance Plan (Available in French only) (PDF, 163 KB) was signed. It gave Québec the means to implement its own plan as of January 1, 2006. It also stipulated that the premiums Quebecers paid into the federal employment insurance plan would be reduced as of the same date, with the coming into force of the Québec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP). Finally, the Agreement also provided that the federal government would pay $200 million to the Québec government to assist with implementation of the QPIP.

All maternity and parental benefit payments which began under the federal employment insurance plan before January 1, 2006 remained the responsibility of Service Canada. Those benefits continued to be paid in 2006 according to the terms and conditions of the federal plan. Furthermore, under the Agreement, the Québec government was required to reimburse the federal government for the amount of those benefits paid in 2006.

On June 15, 2005, the National Assembly adopted a number of amendments to the Act respecting parental insurance in order to create the Parental Insurance Fund, improve the representativeness and independence of the Conseil’s Board of Directors, and confirm the role of Ministère de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale with regard to QPIP client services.

2006 – Coming into effect of the Québec Parental Insurance Plan

The Québec Parental Insurance Plan came into force on January 1, 2006. During the Plan’s first year, the Plan’s regulations were amended to better meet the needs of new parents.

 
Haut de la page.
Last update: 2015-11-30

Note: The information contained on this website cannot be used for legal interpretation purposes and does not replace the provisions of the relevant statutes and regulations.

Passer la navigation
À propos du Conseil
Diminuer le texte. Agrandir le texte. Imprimer le texte.

Historique

1996 – Sommet sur l'économie et l'emploi

À l'issue du Sommet sur l'économie et l'emploi de 1996, le premier ministre annonce la mise en place d'une véritable politique familiale axée sur la conciliation du travail et de la famille pour les parents de jeunes enfants, ainsi que sur l'incitation au travail des parents à faible revenu.

À la même occasion, les participants au Sommet adoptent une résolution visant à demander au gouvernement fédéral de remettre au Québec les sommes permettant la création d'une caisse d'assurance parentale.

1997 – Création des services de garde À contribution réduite

Le ministère de la Famille et de l'Enfance est créé et devient responsable de la politique familiale du Québec. Dès lors, la mise en place des services de garde à contribution réduite débute.

C'est également à ce moment que s'amorcent les négociations avec le gouvernement fédéral sur le rapatriement des responsabilités en matière de prestations parentales en vue de la création d'un régime d'assurance parentale propre au Québec.

2001 – Loi sur l'assurance parentale

La Loi sur l'assurance parentaleLien vers un site externe. est adoptée à l'unanimité par l'Assemblée nationale du Québec et les négociations avec le gouvernement fédéral se poursuivent.

2004 – Entente de principe Canada-Québec sur le Régime d'assurance parentale

Cette première entente (PDF, 262 Ko) établit les principes, le mécanisme de financement, ainsi que l'échéancier en vue de l'entente finale menant à la création du Régime québécois d'assurance parentale.

2005 – Entente finale Canada-Québec sur le Régime québécois d'assurance parentale

Le Conseil de gestion de l'assurance parentale entreprend officiellement ses activités le 10 janvier 2005.

Le 1er mars 2005, l'Entente finale Canada-Québec sur le Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (PDF, 163 Ko) est signée. Elle donne au Québec les moyens de mettre en œuvre son propre régime à compter du 1er janvier 2006. Elle prévoit aussi un rabais de cotisation au Régime fédéral d'assurance-emploi pour tous les cotisants québécois. Ce rabais de cotisation débute le 1er janvier 2006, avec l'entrée en vigueur du Régime québécois d'assurance parentale. L'entente prévoit aussi que le gouvernement fédéral versera 200 millions de dollars au Québec pour appuyer la mise en œuvre du Régime.

Toutes les prestations de maternité et les prestations parentales accordées en vertu du Régime d'assurance-emploi du gouvernement fédéral ayant débuté avant le 1er janvier 2006 demeurent la responsabilité de Service Canada. Elles continuent d'être versées en 2006, selon les paramètres et les modalités du régime fédéral. De plus, selon l'entente, le gouvernement du Québec doit rembourser au gouvernement fédéral la somme de ces prestations payées en 2006.

Le 15 juin 2005, le gouvernement adopte des modifications à la Loi sur l'assurance parentale. Celles-ci ont notamment pour objet de créer le Fonds d'assurance parentale, de renforcer la représentativité et l'indépendance du conseil d'administration du Conseil de gestion de l'assurance parentale et de confirmer le rôle du ministère de l'Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale relativement à l'offre de service à la clientèle du Régime.

2006 – Entrée en vigueur du Régime québécois d'assurance parentale

Le Régime québécois d'assurance parentale entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 2006. Au cours de cette première année, des modifications réglementaires y sont apportées pour favoriser sa meilleure adéquation avec les besoins des nouveaux parents.

 
Haut de la page.
Dernière mise à jour : 2016-10-24

Mise en garde : Les informations contenues sur ce site ne peuvent être utilisées pour interprétation légale ou juridique et ne remplacent pas les dispositions des lois et règlements visés.